Three VUB Laureates of Belgian Physical Society Awards

12/06/2018 - 15:15

Each year, the Belgian Physical Society (BPS) awards several prizes to excellent research performed in Belgium over a wide range of fields within physics. Three of the 2018 laureates are VUB PhD students at the Interuniversity Institute for High Energies (IIHE; VUB & ULB), and all of them were awarded a prize for research related to the IceCube neutrino observatory. 

First of all, Gwenhaël de Wasseige (photo middle) became second in the Young Speakers Contest during the 2018 BPS Annual Meeting. There she presented her PhD research to a wide audience with a presentation called Solar Flare Neutrinos in the Multi Messenger Era

Furthermore, Paul Coppin (left) en Pablo Correa (right) were each awarded one of three Best Master Thesis Awards, respectively for their dissertations InIce veto studies for the future IceCube-GEN2 neutrino observatory and Comparison of statistical methods to evaluate the IceCube discovery potential for steady point sources.

Both Paul and Pablo are currently doing their PhD within the IceCube research group at the VUB.