Theoretical Particle Physics


12/05/2020 - 11:30

With about 50 researchers in HEP@VUB we perform fundamental research towards a profound and comprehensive understanding of both the largest and smallest structures around us. By combining theoretical and experimental research of high-energy phenomena in the universe and on the tiniest quantum scale a coherent picture of the reality around us emerges.

04/07/2018 - 16:00

Tim De Jonckheere obtained on July 4 2018 the academic degree of Doctor of Sciences with the following doctoral thesis:
Measures of correlation in holographic theories
Promotor: Prof. dr. Ben Craps

01/06/2018 - 11:00

Andries Coone obtained on June 1 2018 the academic degree of Doctor of Sciences with the following doctoral thesis:
Inflation: Generic Predictions and Nilpotent Superfields
Gezamenlijk doctoraat met Rijksuniversiteit Groningen
promotoren: Prof. dr. Ben Craps & Prof. dr. Diederik Roest

27/03/2018 - 08:45

De vakgroep Fysica heeft een openstaande vacature voor een assistent (BAAP), startdatum 1 oktober 2018

13/10/2017 - 08:30

On October 13 2017, during the 29th General Assembly of the International Union of Pure and Applied Physics (IUPAP) in São Paulo, Brazil, Alexander Sevrin has been reelected as member for a second term. He will be serving  on the committee “Mathematical Physics” (C18).

26/07/2017 - 13:15

The 35th International Cosmic-Ray Conference took place in Busan, South Korea from July 12th to July 20th, 2017.
More than 800 physicists attended the conference to discuss the latest progress in cosmic-ray and solar physics.
Furthermore, recent developments in gamma-ray and neutrino astronomy as well as the hunt for dark matter were covered. 
The VUB was clearly represented with 10 posters and 4 talks.

05/07/2017 - 14:00

On July 5th 2017 Jonathan Lindgren obtained the academic degree of Doctor of Sciences with the following doctoral thesis:
Black hole formation, holographic thermalization and the AdS/CFT correspondence.
Joint PhD with Université Libre De Bruxelles
Promotors: Prof. Dr. Ben Craps, Prof. Dr. Alexander Sevrin & Prof. Dr. Marc Henneaux (ULB)

23/10/2016 - 12:45

Saskia Demulder, FWO fellow at TENA, received the Solvay Award on October 23 2016 during a ceremony in Studio 4 of the Flagey. She received this prize for her Master thesis “Integrability in the AdS/CFT correspondence” with Alexander Sevrin and Daniel Thompson as advisors.

22/08/2016 - 16:00

On August 22nd 2016 Karen De Causmaecker obtained the academic degree of Doctor in Sciences with the following doctoral thesis:
Unconventional signatures of supersymmetry
Promotor: Prof. Dr. Jorgen D'Hondt

12/08/2016 - 10:15

Today, a neutrino even more elusive than its fellows is under the spotlight:  the sterile neutrino. Analysing the data collected over the course of a year at the IceCube detector however, scientists did not find any trace of the sterile neutrino. IceCube will update these results with more data and physicists are getting more and more excited to see what else sterile neutrinos could uncover about the ultimate neutrino theory.